02
May
08

Payday! Woo hoo!

As of today, I have:

  • 46.67 in my car fund
  • 203.71 in my travel fund
  • 97.51 in the Sonic Screwdriver fund
  • 53.86 in the clothes fund
  • 696.58 in my Emergency Fund
  • $0 credit card balance

This is pretty confounded momentous, folks, because just six months ago I was at $0 in any of those funds and about $3,000 in credit card debt despite working two jobs and having no fun, ’cause I had no time for fun.

My mother, during our last weekly check-in call, actually was worried that I seemed to be spending so much money. It feels a little like that to me, too, sometimes. I figured out why last night when I was hanging out with some coworkers— in the past, all my spending would be splurged within a day or two of getting a check, given to restaurants and grocery stores and comic stores and little trinkets of uselessness. Then, for the next week or two, I would be living like a college student on beans, rice, and ramen, just waiting for that check to roll in to repeat the cycle.

Now that I have more concious control of my spending, I’ve stopped the boom and bust cycle. I have goals and benchmarks and contingency plans.

This is pretty freakin’ AWESOME, yo.

2 Responses to “Payday! Woo hoo!”


  1. 1 Miss Tetra
    May 4, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Congratulations Mary Sue! That’s fantastic news!

  2. May 5, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Whoa, Mary Sue. That’s awesome. The hard work has truly paid off. And I definitely relate to the boom-and-bust cycle. Congrats.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

