03
Jan
08

See? Told You They Were Evil.

Lynnae at BeingFrugal.net has an interesting story involving zero percent interest rates, defrosting her credit cards, and on time payments that clearly illustrates Point Two of the Fangirl Financial Plan: Credit cards are evil and must be vanquished.

The man who answered the phone seemed nice enough. I sweetly explained that I had made a payment every month, and I didn’t understand why I was hit with a late fee. He explained that I had paid my bill too early in November. I (getting less sweet by the moment) explained that things got messed up when I went to paperless billing, and that I had made November’s payment specifically to avoid a late fee.

The man replied that he would do me a “courtesy” of dropping the late fee. I think my jaw dropped.

He was doing me the courtesy of dropping the late fee, even though my payment wasn’t late? I couldn’t wait to hear his answer to my next question.

Are you going to set my interest rate back to 0%?

His reply: “I’m not sure if that’s possible, ma’am.”

But oh! Pumpkins! It gets even better. Click here for the rest of the drama.

2 Responses to “See? Told You They Were Evil.”


  1. January 3, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks for the mention! This story would be almost comical if it wasn’t actually true. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.

