18
Mar
08

Brief Money Notes

  1. I bought some clothes on a kinda-whim off an online site yesterday. A pretty pink summer dress and a pretty pink summer work shirt. As I’ve discussed before, I really have to be In A Mood to shop for clothes. The problem is now that I have discovered online boutiques with fairly reasonable prices for fat women (the dress was not on sale and it was $32! You can NEVER find a cute dress for fat women for $32!) I have to stop myself from going to town. Like spending an additional $28.99 on pretty pink platform shoes. I had my debit card out, but I put it away. If I still need pretty pink shoes next week, well, I’ll think about it. *pats self on the back*
  2. The money for my pretty pink clothes came from my Sonic Screwdriver fund and made me realize I need to set up a budget for clothes. I spend about $250 a year on clothes, which equals about one pair of jeans, one pair of pants, three work tops and a pair of shoes. My geek t-shirt collection comes either from discount bins at cons or Sonic Screwdriver monies.
  3. I went to the dentist for the first time in five years. Because my dental insurance runs out in two weeks. But here’s some things I learn:
    1. A regular, no-frills, no x-rays cleaning costs $68. In the last six months I paid $100 into my dental insurance.
    2.  I still have remnants of sealants from when I was like, 12. In my entire life, I’ve had one (1) cavity. Composite fillings and drillings start at $450. Adults can have sealants applied. My dentist charges $32 a tooth for them and they’re warrantied for 5 years. I’m going to have the farthest back 3 teeth done next month and slowly work my way up to all 15 teeth that can take sealants (the one with the filling doesn’t need it).
    3. I have beautiful teeth and even as I’ve grown older the thousands of dollars my folks spent on Orthodontia have been well worth it.
  4. I’m going to be paying my car insurance and purchasing a plane ticket to the family reunion tonight. OUT OF MY SAVINGS SET ASIDE FOR THAT PURPOSE OMG I AM SO KEWL!
