10
Apr
08

Of Stimulus Checks

Last year us Oregonians got kicker checks, wherein the state refunded us a portion of our paid taxes. Part of mine went to the iPod sitting here on my desk (replacement, budgeted for), part went into savings, and the rest went to various charities I always wish I could give more money to.

Well, I owe the Feds a whole bunch of money. And I wrote the check. It’s just waiting here on my desk until April 14th, because compound interest is sexy OMG.

Since I have my taxes here on my desk, though, I thought I’d give those economic stimulus calculators the real numbers instead of the ones I kind of guessed at.

Apparently, I owe Uncle Sam $630 and he’s going to give me back $600. But not until June.

DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH INTEREST I COULD EARN ON $600 BETWEEN APRIL AND JUNE?!?!

Grrr.

