14
May
08

Three Bubbles that Burst

Full Disclosure: I like the Mental Floss blog so much I subscribed to their magazine. And it’s the first magazine I’ve subscribed to since, uh…. 1998? Mental Floss’ eclectic and esoteric mix of history and pop culture makes it the definition of ‘geek’.

Such as their article Three Bubbles that Burst, which will give you the lowdown hoedown on the Tulip Mania of 1636, the South Seas Corporation dramarama of the 1700s, and Beanie Babies of the 1990s.

All three are cautionary tales that every frugal financial wizard should take to heart. *nods and cuddles her Peace bear*

1 Response to “Three Bubbles that Burst”


  1. May 15, 2008 at 4:00 am

    I still have a plastic box of beanie babies under my bed. They were cute and fun, and I never paid more than about $7 for one of them. Even back then, I knew that neither they nor Pokemon cards were not a worthwhile investment. (Although my Pokemon skills did make me the coolest babysitter ever.)


Comments are currently closed.

