10
Jun
08

How NOT to Gain Publicity For Your Product.

I know several of my whole four readers are entreprenuers. Even if you’re not, if you’re not reading Book of Joe.com every day, you’re missing out on one of the best blogs out there.

He routinely posts information about useful, interesting and intruiging products. Including photos, descriptions, and links directly to where you can purchase said product. I also find his Behind the MedSpeak columns useful in my day-to-day job at Big Ol’ Hospital, where a 16Fr Cannula is just something I need to have delivered to Sterile Processing by 8am or else Surgeons Yell At Me*.

Every so often he gets a C&D from a vendor. Which he then posts on his blog. Because he can.

I think, however, that the cease and desist from John Laurence of Safety Smart Gear regarding Spokelit is the absolute height of passive-aggressive whinerbaby**.

Don’t believe me? See for yourself.

The funny thing is, I was going to buy this product. For lo, I have a bicycle, and I ride at night, and I am worried about visibility, even though I’m a 275lb woman on a six foot long bright orange beach cruiser bicycle. Car drivers (and elitist cyclists) seem to think I’m invisible.

Now? Not so much. I think I can find a competitor’s product to throw my shiny gold rocks at.

And that, my dears, is a picture of how consumers work in this day or age. They are more likely to make decisions based on the evaluations and suggestions of someone they ‘trust’. Economists have a different definition of ‘trust’ than normal humans, as in I wouldn’t trust Joe with my car (sorry, Joe, it’s an insurance thing) but if he says a product is good, I’m going to remember that and use it in my decision making when I am making a purchase.

From a sociologist’s point of view, it’s just networking taken to its logical conclusion.

*Surgeons are scary when they yell.
**Yes, I watched Sky High again last night. Bruce Campbell is
♥.

2 Responses to “How NOT to Gain Publicity For Your Product.”


  1. 1 AG
    June 10, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I will be borrowing “whinerbaby” if that’s all right with you…!

  2. June 10, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Please, feel free to borrow ‘whinerbaby’! But I ganked it from the film Sky High, myself.

    Such a good, all-purpose word….


Comments are currently closed.

