12
Jun
08

Rising Costs of Food Hits Home

They hiked the price of pop in our break room from 1.25/20oz to 1.50/20oz.

This usually wouldn’t impact me, except I have had the strangest mid-afternoon craving for sweet drinks over the last few weeks. Water, coffee, and tea just weren’t cutting it. At the grocery store last night, I figured I would pick up a six pack of something with no High Fructose Corn Syrup, because that makes me run around real fast in circles and then fall down go boom.

Instead, I got a 16oz bottle of very expensive organic lemon juice. I have a spare water bottle at work, and I rinsed it out, dropped in 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar and a couple ounces of hot water from our fountain at work, and swirled until it dissolved. Then I added 3 ounces of the expensive lemon juice and filled it up the rest of the way with water.

It’s chilling in the fridge for this afternoon.

Cost per fl.oz:
Coke from machine: 7.4 cents
My fancy organic homebrew lemonade: 4.1 cents

What was that about organics costing more than regular food?

